Common Bladderwort

Utricularia vulgarisThis plant floats freely in the sluggish waters of ditches, ponds and still swamps. On the leaves, small air-filled oval bubbles can be seen. When flowering, bladderworts stand out in water bodies with their flower stalks rising 15-20 or even 30 cm above water, hosting bright yellow large flowers forming few-flowered trusses. They flower June to September.

The bladderwort is one of the most interesting plants in the region – it is insectivorous. Every small bubble attached to the elegant small leaves is a complex trap with a non-return valve. The microscopic maxillopods – like cyclops or daphnia – small water insects and algae randomly touching a bubble cause it to quickly open in. A moment later the prey is inside the hollow of the trap. They cannot get out, but the glands in the walls of the bubbles will devour their bodies. Thus the bladderwort gets the essential nitric compounds, otherwise scarce in water, and which are   vital for plants to get – aquatic or not.

In the fall, bladderworts form wintering buds. They tear off the main stem, collect into a wad, cover themselves in jelly and descend to the bottom. In the spring, they will release new bladderworts.

/ * The photos at pskovlake.cbc-center.org are cross-posted from commons.wikimedia.org and are used for familiarization purposes only. No commercial use of the photos is allowed. For more information about to use the photos see the originals on commons.wikimedia.org. /

Пузырчатка обыкновенная

Utricularia vulgarisЭто растение свободно плавает в медленно текущих водах канав, прудов, стоячих водах болот. На листьях видны маленькие овальные пузырьки, наполненными воздухом. Во время цветения пузырчатка выделяется на водоёмах поднимающимися над водой на 15-20, иногда 30 см цветоносными побегами, на которых располагаются ярко-жёлтые крупные цветки, собранные в малоцветковую кисть. Цветёт с июня по сентябрь.

Пузырчатка — одно из интереснейших наших растений: оно насекомоядное. Каждый мелкий пузырёк, находящийся на изящных подводных листочках — сложный ловчий аппарат, клапан которого открывается только внутрь. Плавающие в воде микроскопические рачки (циклопы, дафнии), мелкие водные насекомые, водоросли случайно прикасаясь к пузырьку способствуют быстрому открыванию клапана. Выбраться из него они уже не смогут, а желёзки, расположенные на стенках пузырьков поглотят «тела» жертв. Таким образом пузырчатка получает необходимые азотистые соединения, которых недостаточно в водной среде.

Осенью у пузырчатки формируются зимующие почки. Они отрываются от основного стебля, собираются в комочек, покрываются тонким слоем слизи и опускаются на дно. Весной из них разовьются новые пузырчатки.

Фото*: http://commons.wikimedia.org. /

*Сайт pskovlake.cbc-center.org публикует (кросс-постинг с commons.wikimedia.org) данные фотографии только в ознакомительных целях; никакое коммерческое использование фотографий недопустимо. Для более подробной информации об условиях использования фото смотрите оригиналы на commons.wikimedia.org./