Common Hornwort

Ceratophyllum demersumHornworts can grow at depths down to 9 meters. The plant has a long stem, branching in the upper part. The dark green, coarse and gristly leaves come in whorls along the stem. They are thinly dissected to threadlike segments, often serrate. Hornworts have barely visible small flowers of no petals. Both staminate and pistillate flowers occur on the same plant.

They spend their entire life in water, even during pollination. Ripening, stamens part from the flower and surface. This is where anthers spill the pollen. Being heavier than water, it sinks towards the styles. Water pollination is a rare phenomenon in the vegetative world. But it does run smoothly – it is not fortuitous that the hornwort is so widespread in our waters. Sometimes it even drives all of its cohabitants out. It may be hard rowing in hornwort-grown waters.

Hornworts do not have roots. Their role is carried out by the peculiar pale, almost colorless branches at the base of the stem – they anchor the plant to the mud. Nutrients and minerals are consumed by the entire surface of the plant – both stem and leaves, instead of roots like in other plants.

This wondrous plant does not like one thing – bright sunlight. It tries to escape into the depths or in the shadow of littoral trees.

/ * The photos at pskovlake.cbc-center.org are cross-posted from commons.wikimedia.org and are used for familiarization purposes only. No commercial use of the photos is allowed. For more information about to use the photos see the originals on commons.wikimedia.org. /

Роголистник обыкновенный

Ceratophyllum demersumРоголистник может расти на большой глубине, до 9 метров. У растения длинный стебель, ветвящийся в верхней части. Листья на стебле расположены в мутовках. Листья тёмно-зелёные, жёсткие, хрящевидные. Они сильно рассечены на узкие, как ниточки, части — сегменты, часто мелкопильчатые по краю. Цветки роголистника мелкие, едва заметные, без лепестков. Тычиночные и пестичные цветки расположены на одном растении.

Роголистник всю жизнь проводит в воде, даже опыляется под водой. Созревая, тычинки отделяются от цветка и всплывают на поверхность. Здесь-то пыльца и высыпается из пыльников. Будучи тяжелее воды, она опускается и попадает на рыльца пестиков. Водное опыление — редкое явление в мире растений. Но проходит оно достаточно успешно, ведь не случайно роголистник очень широко распространён в наших водоёмах. Иногда он даже вытесняет всех своих соседей. Бывает трудно плыть на лодке по реке, заросшей роголистником.

Корней у роголистника нет. Их роль выполняют особые бледные, почти бесцветные ветви в нижней части стебля. Они проникают в ил и, как якоря, удерживают растение. Питательные (минеральные) вещества поглощает вся поверхность роголистника: и стебель, и листья, а не корни, как у большинства других растений.

Чего не любит это удивительнее растение — так это  яркого солнечного света. Старается «уйти» в глубину или в тень растущих на берегу деревьев.

Фото*: http://commons.wikimedia.org. /

*Сайт pskovlake.cbc-center.org публикует (кросс-постинг с commons.wikimedia.org) данные фотографии только в ознакомительных целях; никакое коммерческое использование фотографий недопустимо. Для более подробной информации об условиях использования фото смотрите оригиналы на commons.wikimedia.org./